Bedside Table Project

by tiffburgess

I am still hard at work on my guest room, but it’s not quite complete. When my mom called to say she’d be coming up for a few days of shopping, I had to kick it into high gear! Luckily, the big portions were already complete thanks to a crisp white duvet from Pottery Barn and my grandmother’s quilt. But, I really wanted to work on a vignette I had in mind for the bedside table.

The duvet for the bed is outlined in a small border of red dots, providing just a pop of color. Running with this idea, I spray painted the base and finial of an old lamp in the same bright cherry (Valspar, Berry Gloss). Then,I added a new white shade from Lowe’s. The shade is a tad shorter than I had envisioned, but it works for now. I really wanted to bring in another color, too, so I went back to my beloved palette of blues. I painted a small side table in a color called Sea Tickle (really, what a great name), also from Valspar, and then covered a few books with some wallpaper scraps I had leftover from a past project.

I always like to try and include one special item in the room that will make my guest feel at home and that is personal to them or our relationship. For mom’s visit, I placed a picture of the two of us from the 80s in a frame on the bedside table. You can see the proof of her Farrah Fawcett wings in the picture above here!

Perhaps I will finish the rest of the updates by the time my next guest arrives — I’m so close!

